Pitigliano, Italy

Pitigliano is a village in Tuscany in the province of Grosseto, located on the border between Tuscany and Lazio. It is situated 313 metres above sea-level. It is known as “the little Jerusalem” because of the historical presence of the Jewish community. The village, which was originally settled by the Etruscans, is also famous for its Etruscan caves.Β I really enjoyed hiking through the caves! Just a few pictures I took while I was there.

DSC_0902

DSC_0965

DSC_1013

26 thoughts on “Pitigliano, Italy

  1. Yeah, Pitigliano! I was there so many times that I’ve got the favourite pizzeria already. πŸ™‚ However, I haven’t visited the caves yet. I’m curious now, since you say you’ve enjoyed it. I’m also curious about the walk between Sovana (another wonderful town if you haven’t seen it yet, about 9 km away) and Pitigliano. Wonderful photos! I haven’t been there yet at night.

    Like

    1. You’re a Tuscany EXPERT πŸ™‚ Pitigliano and Sovana are both unique places! Pitigliano is just so magical at night πŸ™‚ I really love this part of Tuscany, definitely worth a visit! Thank you so much for your comment, I’m so glad you liked the pictures!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, Martina, I just came again from both and now again have no idea what to do with so many pictures. In fact, the plan was to walk from one to the other but we started off from the wrong Via Cava and instead of Sovana returned back to Pitigliano. πŸ˜€ Anyway, it was still marvellous.

        Like

Leave a Reply

